2016 New Quilt Bloggers – Week 1

Y’all, it’s week 1 of the 2016 New Quilt Bloggers blog hop! I am so excited. I am finding myself not to be much of a quilter or blogger these days, but what I have been for years and still am is a quilt blog reader FANATIC. I am subscribed to hundreds of quilt blogs. The thing is, they often have a shelf life. Someone posts regularly for months or years, and then life happens, or it becomes drudgery rather than invigorating. Posts taper off or disappear altogether.

Last year I followed along on all the posts about this blog hop and dreamed of participating one day. Now I’m in it, and finding the process a bit intimidating, largely because the participants are AMAZING quilters and bloggers. So the good news is, lots of exciting new reading! So much to learn and see!

This week’s bloggers:

Paige at Quilted Blooms – Paige has mad skills — from applique, to design, to maintaining a stellar website. I absolutely swooned over her Michael Miller glitz challenge quilt she shared in this post. Amazing.

Melva at Melva Loves Scraps – “When life gives you scraps, make a quilt.” Can I get this on a throw pillow, please? I’m totally in love with her Broken Star quilt. Melva seems to put a lot of thought and care into her work, which I admire.

Tish at Tish’s Adventures in Wonderland – I don’t remember when I first ran across Tish’s quilt, but I’ve been following for quite a while. She’s always upbeat and hilarious, so it’s a fun blog to read. Also, her FMQ skills are incredible! I’d say her aesthetic is traditional-leaning, but I love traditional quilts, and I especially love the ways in which traditional and modern looks and techniques are interwoven. (What was old becomes vintage becomes the next fresh hot thing.)

Amanda at Gypsy Moon Quilt Co – Speaking of vintage beauties, you’ve got to check out what Amanda is up to here. Sustainable, beautiful, upcycled, thrifted amazingness. She also has a fun feature, Five Things Friday, where she shares five happy things + five happy photos. The world (and the internet) could use more happy, beautiful things like this blog.

There are many other bloggers participating, but these wonderful quilters are in my hive, the Sewcial Network. Many thanks to our hosts, who have done a ton of work for the blog hop:

Yvonne at Quilting Jetgirl
Cheryl at Meadow Mist Designs
Stephanie at Late Night Quilter

PS don’t forget the priiiiiiiiiizes. ❤

 

3 thoughts on “2016 New Quilt Bloggers – Week 1

  1. Tish says:

    I want to say a big thank you, because that’s probably the best review I have ever received. And I big sigh of relief that people may find me entertaining and not crazy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gypsy Moon Quilt Co. says:

    Thank you, Beth – this is so SO great! I love your little blurbs and hope you do a recap every week of the blog hop! I’m currently trying to figure out a way to balance sewing, blogging, reading other blogs and dealing with real life all at the same time. I think I’m managing to make it all much more difficult that it should be. And I should probably figure it out soon or my kids will have to get used to eating Hot Pockets for dinner. 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

