2016 NQB Recap

This week’s recap post has taken me a little extra time to produce — apologies! — both because I am part of it and because I am beholden to the vicissitudes of parenting a 7-month-old. I know many people parent babies full-time and sew and blog daily (and exercise and eat healthy and also get 8 hours of sleep a night), and to them I say, “kudos, you are doing an amazing job!” And to myself I say, “I get another glass of wine later for every time I say that.” Yesssssss.

Sorry, I got distracted! The point of this post is that this week’s quilters are a group of outstanding veterans… and yours truly. Seriously, you’ll flip when you hear about how talented these quilters are. Check out their posts!

Carole Lyles Shaw has been doing modern quilting since before modern quilting was a thing! Her colors are bold and beautiful, she does amazing improvisational work (including CURVES!) and she’s got one book out and one on the way. She also has a give-away going on right now, so check it out!

Anne at Said With Love is an Aussie quilter with a love of text fabrics. Her quilts are bright and cheerful, and she’s working to make a quilt for every member of her family. Guys, her workspace is INCREDIBLE. She’s got a smart-looking blog with great photography!

Speaking of workspaces, also be sure to stop by Jennifer at RV Quilting. Yup, you read that right — RV quilting! She does an amazing job of quilting on the road and has tons of great quilts to show. I especially  love one made of recycled men’s shirts, and a modern mini drunkard’s path moonscape that you just have to see to appreciate.

It has been so fun already discovering so many new, amazing quilters. One of the things I have found to be difficult is that I usually cannot comment on blogs that are not on WordPress, so I’ve been posting these recaps to at least throw a link to my fellow blog-hoppers. As always, thanks to our inimitable host, Yvonne at Quilting JetGirl. Great giveaways again this week, so check out her post.

 

 

4 thoughts on “2016 NQB Recap

  1. Jennifer @ Inquiring Quilter says:

    What a terrific recap, Beth! But you really should include yourself in that list of awesome quilt bloggers. Sure, you’re just starting out. Sure you’re busy and can’t post as often as you like. But you have a wonderful sense of humor, interesting things to talk about, and good photos. What’s not to like?

    The New Quilt Bloggers is a wonderful group, and as you say, we’re all talented in our own ways and have things to bring to the table. Thanks for encouraging your visitors to take the “tour”. I’ve met so many great bloggers these last few weeks, and I know I’ll meet even more in the upcoming weeks of the hop.

    Like

  2. SHARON Parcel says:

    I agree with the above…your blog rocks and I guess it is hard to toot your own horn. So…enjoy that baby…they grow up WAY to fast…and do what makes you happy and sane everyday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

